Is Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) Gluten Free


Probably you have heard of MSG. Besides, you have most likely eaten it in a variety of processed foods and restaurants. A common ingredient in many different cuisines and foods. If you are not sure what it is and whether it fits in your gluten-free diet, this article will break it down for you. 

What is MSG?

MSG stands for monosodium glutamate. A flavor enhancer from L-glutamic acid, naturally present in many foods, enhances the taste.

MSG is an odorless, crystalline, white powder that is commonly using it as a food additive. In the food industry, it is known as E621. It can dissolve into water, separating into free glutamate and sodium. It has the trading name sodium hydrogen glutamate. 

MSG Gluten Free Jlion.jpg

How is MSG made?

Microorganisms ferment carbohydrate sources such as sugarcane, sugar beet, and molasses to produce this. Chefs often use it to enhance the flavor of canned vegetables, deli meats, soups, and other foods commonly served in restaurants.

The taste of MSG is specifically a taste of umami. The taste is a basic taste alongside sour, sweet, bitter, and salty. Umami also has a meaty flavor which refers to the presence of proteins in the food. 

Is MSG gluten-free?

Many people react to the levels of gluten in food. MSG is gluten-free. Almost certainly, it is not a risk for people who have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

In the early days of the production of MSG, the manufacturers used to isolate glutamate from wheat gluten. With that, it happened to be a protein source that is extremely high in glutamate. 

MSG was related to gluten (manufacturers were rendering the resulting MSG as being unsafe under a gluten-free diet). However, nowadays, glutamate that is used in MSG is produced from fermented sugar beets or molasses. Moreover, it can be produced from component elements such as hydrogen, carbon, oxygen, nitrogen, and sodium. It arrived gluten-free. 

Also read: What Does MSG Taste Like

More gluten-free products: Is There Gluten-Free Soy Sauce?


Is MSG unhealthy?

The U.S “Food and Drug Administration” (FDA) has classified MSG as being safe. Plenty of people have no problem when eating MSG. 

You may hear about MSG symptom complex. However, subsequent studies have shown there is no conclusive link that exists between the syndrome and consumption of normal levels of MSG. The real culprit is a compound called histamine. Seafood (such as tuna, crab, scallops), some fruits and vegetables (mango, pineapple, pepper, onion), milk, eggs all contain high levels of histamine.

So in 1987, the "Food and Agriculture Organization"'(FAO) and the "World Health Organization"(WHO) reassessed monosodium glutamate, believing it to be a safe flavor additive, and announced the cancellation of the restriction on the consumption of monosodium glutamate.


At JOLION, you can buy quality gluten-free MSG. The MSG from JOLION is suitable for a variety of cooking ingredients and methods. It is made from carefully selected high-quality raw materials just for you. You can use MSG in many wonderful ways at home. In addition to that, you can use it to enhance the flavor of your dishes like soups, tomato sauce, dips, stews, fried rice, and dressings. You can order your MSG from JOLION. 

Jolion is a professional Chinese sauce powder manufacturer, having certifications like FDA, BRC, HALAL, KOSHER, and HACCP, producing various food products. And Jolion Foods provides wholesale, OEM services, welcome to get an online free quote today.


Start Your Seasoning Sauce Business by a Free Quote

Contact Now >>